Saturday, August 30, 2014
Text Size



  • Mid Lancs Cross Country League

    Following the success of the club in this league last year, we will be once more entering teams in this year's competition.  Anyone can run and you do not have to complete in them all.  The dates for the races are: 27 Sept, 15 & 29 Nov, 10 Jan, 14 Feb and 7 Mar.  The entry fees will be paid by the club.  If you would like to run in any of these races, please contact Nick Treitl and he will make sure that you are registered.

  • Northern Road Realys - Saturday 20 September 2014

    This takes place at Birchwood and starts at 2:00 pm.  The men's relay is six 6km legs and the ladies is four 4.5 km legs.  If you are interested in taking part, please email Stephen Chew.  His email address is on the contacts page.

  • Club Vests

    If you are wanting a club vest, these are available from the club secretary, Stephen Chew.  The cost is £20 for adults and £16.50 for juniors.  Please do not leave ordering your vest until the last minute, as they sometimes need to be ordered.

  • Web Site Gallery

    If we have more than one picture of a race, they are all stored beneath the main race picture.   To see them all, click on the article to enlarge it.  Then click on the picture and it will open up a gallery.  If there is no right or left arrow, then we only have one picture.

Barlick Fell Runners - Reports

Dave Halliday Dave Halliday

3 Derek WALKDEN 20:16
16 Emma BAILEY 22:46 New PB
17 Jennifer HIRD 23:05 New PB
59 Jenna BOOTHMAN 29:59
67 Gary BAILEY 32:40
72 Lee EDWARDS 35:17

19 Lorna HARGREAVES 24:53

7 Andy Berry 1:29:34
24 Jonathan Boothman 1:38:18
33 John Boothman 1:46:24
34 Lorraine Slater 1:46:57 (1st FV40)
35 Dave Halliday 1:48:42
48 Rachel Lowther 1:54:32
51 Chris Smedley 1:55:02
57 Craig Child 2:00:17
82 Richard Treitl 2:32:41

Jimmy Craig Jimmy Craig Woodentops

It was the usual battle at the front between Rob Hope and Ted Mason, with Rob once again running out the winner.  Jimmy Craig led home the Barlickers  and was just pipped to third place by Mark McGoldrick.  The Barlickers finished as follows:

3 Jimmy Craig 8:38
7 Nick Treitl 9:12
10 Luke Maude 9:34
34 John Boothman 11:40
58 Craig Child 13:18

Lucas and Kathryn Payne went to Guernsey to take part in this marathon.  The winner was the Kenyan, Reuben Chumba in 2:28:39.

Lucas was half way in a time of 1:25, but then got cramp resulting in him having to jog a bit and walk a bit.   He still finished in 7th position in a time of 3:13:30.

Kathryn took part in the marathon relay, where teams of two run a half marathon each.  Her all female team, the Pinot Grigios, finished in a time of 3:57:44 and were 11th overall.  This is Kathryn's first half marathon, which she completed with very little training.

Jimmy Craig - 2nd Jimmy Craig - 2nd Andy Holden

Jimmy Craig finished 2nd in this race to Allan Bush (Norman's son).  There are no times for this race.  This is a traditional Dales fell race and it used to be common for such races to be held without timing them.  This is probably one of the few left that still do this.  The positions for the Barlickers were:

2 Jimmy Craig
5 Shaun Chew
14 Michael Thistlethwaite

An awesome performance from  Matt Lalor saw him set a new course record and win this race in 1:11:19, beating second place by 6 minutes.

3 Julian Hood 57:50
17 Andy Berry 1:03:50
50 Des Walkden 1:11:15

In this race, Ted Mason is running in his own backyard and every year, he likes to show any offcumdens who dominates the area.  And so it was again this year that Ted ran out a very clear winner.

The Barlickers finished as follows:

6 Nick Treitl 17:03
55 Andy Berry 21:52
97 Derek Walkden 24:47
107 Emma Bailey 27:28
116 Richard Treitl 31:13
123 Gary Bailey 45:24

Barlick were 6th team.

Junior Races


11 Harley Treitl (1st U8)

Pete Beresford finished this race in 1:19:57.  Not sure of position.

The race winner was Mark McGoldrick of Wharfedale in 37:14 and the first lady (14th overall) was Judith Jepson of Dark Peak in a time of 43:07.

The Barlickers finished as follows:

5 Shaun Chew 40:13
11 Andrew Driver 41:34
23 Jock Boothman 45:07
35 John Boothman 47:11
49 Dave Halliday 49:46
58 Paul Fryers 51:39
65 Rachel Lowther 52:23 (9th lady)
95 John Beswick 66:25

30 James STEAD 24:54 New PB
70 Jenna BOOTHMAN 30:39
71 John BOOTHMAN 30:40
81 Gary BAILEY 34:15

A great run for Matt Lalor in this race, finishing in 3rd position in a time of 15:46.  The race winner was GB International Jonny Mellor who finished in a time of 13:55, which was faster than the European Championship final last Sunday which was won by Mo Farah

The girls did the club proud tonight in winning the first ever team prize for the club in a fell race.  The stars were Lorraine Slater, Jennifer Hird and Emma Bailey.

The Barlickers finished as follows:

50 Chris Smedley 49:54
51 Lorraine Slater 50:13 (2nd lady)
67 Jennifer Hird 52:44 (4th lady)
97 Richard Starkie 57:28
112 James Stead 59:36
116 Emma Bailey 1:00:02
138 Helen Stead 1:11:37

Andrew Driver in the crowd on the initial ascent Andrew Driver in the crowd on the initial ascent Heather Driver

This race was a baptism of fire for Andy Driver.   This 22.5 km / 1830 m English Championship race was run in atrocious conditions, which made it quite tough. 

The race was won by Rob Hope in 2:06.  Screw had a pretty decent run to finish in 97th position in a time of 2:49.

There were around 270 finishers.